World's Best Snowboard and Freeski Athletes Set to Compete in Both Slopestyle and Superpipe Disciplines

Burr Ridge, Ill. – October 27, 2010 – Registration is open for the third season of the Winter Dew Tour and the list of pre-qualified athletes has just been released, highlighted by Olympic snowboarders and defending Dew Cup champions. The three-stop Tour kicks off at Breckenridge Ski Resort for the Nike 6.0 Open, December 16-19, 2010, continues on to Killington Resort, January 20-23, 2011 and concludes with the Toyota Championships at Snowbasin Resort, February 10-13, 2011. The top snowboard and freeski athletes will compete in slopestyle and superpipe disciplines for the coveted Dew Cup awarded at season's end and for a total of $1.5 million in prize money.

kaitlyn farrington
Kaitlyn Farrington

The men's freeski athlete roster is highlighted by defending Dew Cup champions Jossi Wells in superpipe and Andreas Hatveit in slopestyle. With stiff competition from the likes of Simon Dumont and Xavier Bertoni in superpipe and Bobby Brown and Tom Wallisch in slopestyle, it promises to be a dynamic season with numerous contenders for the coveted Cup.

"Last season was unbelievable for me, and I couldn't have been happier to end it as the Dew Cup champion," said Wells. "The level of talent and competition is going to be insane this year. I'm so stoked for the Tour to start again!"

jossi                         jj thomas

Jossi Wells                                                                         JJ Thomas

All eyes will be on Olympian snowboarders in both men and women's superpipe disciplines this season. Defending Dew Cup champion JJ Thomas spotlights the men's pre-qualified list, along with two-time gold medalist Shaun White and his Vancouver teammate and bronze medalist Scotty Lago. In women's superpipe, top contenders include Olympic bronze medalist Kelly Clark and Kaitlyn Farrington, who holds the 2009-10 Dew Cup title.

"I'm really excited to compete on 22-foot superpipes this year on the Winter Dew Tour," said Thomas. "Breck is an awesome mountain to ride, and I'm proud to call it my home mountain. There's not a better to kick off the winter season than with the Winter Dew Tour at Breckenridge."  

Sage Kotsenburg
Sage Kotsenburg

In snowboard slopestyle, young gun Sage Kotsenburg will defend his Dew Cup champion status against the likes of Torstein Horgmo and Tyler Flanagan on the men's front. Jamie Anderson will defend her 2009-10 Dew Cup status in women's slopestyle, while athletes like Jenny Jones and Spencer O'Brien, 2008-09 Dew Cup champion, will be vying for the top spot at the end of the season.

jamie anderson
Jamie Anderson

Through the support of Paul Mitchell, the upcoming season will also feature expanded women's freeski slopestyle and superpipe competitions at the Nike 6.0 Open in Breckenridge, Colo. and again to close out the season at the Toyota Championships in Ogden, Utah. Although not a Dew Cup discipline, the women's freeski events will include full athlete fields competing in both preliminary and final rounds of competition.

Andreas Hatveit

Athletes are pre-qualified based on their 2009-10 Winter Dew Tour rankings. Athlete registration for the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour season is currently open and the full, final roster will be announced prior to each event. As a way to continue growing winter action sports and spotlighting new talent, the Winter Dew Tour will hold Open Qualifiers at the Nike 6.0 Open in Breckenridge to allow spots for emerging talent on the Tour.

The full list of pre-qualified athletes is below. The first round of confirmed athletes for the Nike 6.0 Open will be announced on Tuesday, November 9th, 2010.

Men's Snowboard Superpipe

Men's Snowboard Slopestyle

Women's Snowboard Superpipe

JJ Thomas

Sage Kotsenburg

Kaitlyn Farrington

Steve Fisher

Torstein Horgmo

Kelly Marren

Danny Davis

Tyler Flanagan

Kjersti Ostgaard

Dylan Bidez

Charles Guldemond

Queralt Castellet

Jack Mitrani

Eric Willett

Elena Hight

Brennen Swanson

Brandon Reis

Jamie Anderson

Zachary Black

Sam Hulbert

Madeline Schaffrick

Scotty Pike

Ulrik Badertscher

Sarka Panc

Elijah Teter

Halldor Helgason

Kelly Clark*

Ross Baker

Nick Poohachoff

Summer Fenton**

Broc Waring

Ian Thorley


Scotty Lago

Andreas Wiig


Roger Kleivdal

Yale Cousino


Shaun White*

Nick Julius


Scott Moline**

Nate Kern



Tim Humphreys



Madison Ellsworth



Wyatt Caldwell



Shaun White*



Cody Boan**



Women's Snowboard Slopestyle

Men's Freeski Superpipe

Men's Freeski Slopestyle

Jamie Anderson

Josiah Wells

Andreas Hatveit

Jenny Jones

Simon Dumont

Bobby Brown

Spencer O'Brien

Xavier Bertoni

Tom Wallisch

Kjersti Ostgaard

Mike Riddle

Sammy Carlson

Janna Meyen-Weatherby

Tucker Perkins

Alexis Godbout

Megan Ginter

Justin Dorey

JF Houle

Lynn Neil

Kevin Rolland

Josiah Wells

Kimberly Fasani

Peter Olenick

Elias Ambuhl

Taylor Owen**

Banks Gilberti

Philip Casabon


Matt Duhamel

Charles Gagnier


Dan Marion

Sean Jordan


Antti-Jussi Kemppainen

Alex Schlopy


Colby West

TJ Schiller


Tanner Hall*

McRae Williams


Torin Yater Wallace**

Ian Cosco



Elvis Eidsvold Harsheim



Anders Backe



Banks Gilberti



PK Hunder*



Steffen Hamre**

* Former Dew Cup champion exemption
** 2010 Gatorade Free Flow Tour champion

An industry leader in broadcast exposure, the Winter Dew Tour will air live on NBC with additional broadcasts on USA, MTV, MTV2, USA, Fuel TV, Universal HD and internationally on Eurosport, Fox Australia and Extreme Channel.

The complete 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows:

Event                                       Date                 Location
Nike 6.0 Open                          Dec. 16-19        Breckenridge Ski Resort – Breckenridge, Colo.
Winter Dew Tour Killington         Jan. 20-23         Killington Resort – Killington, Vt.
Toyota Championships              Feb. 10-13        Snowbasin Resort – Ogden, Utah

Entering its third season, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at the Toyota Championship at Snowbasin Resort in Ogden, Utah. The 2009-10 Dew Cup champions include Andreas Hatveit (freeski slopestyle), Jossi Wells (freeski superpipe), Jamie Anderson (women's snowboard slopestyle), Sage Kotsenburg (men's snowboard slopestyle), Kaitlyn Farrington (women's snowboard superpipe), JJ Thomas (men's snowboard superpipe).