Some of most important figures of skateboard filmmaking are onboard for the first annual L.A. Skate Film Festival. Interested filmmakers have one week left to submit their works in time for the June 9 deadline.

Submissions will be looked over by the Festival's newly created Academy of Skateboard Filmmakers, which includes Stacy Peralta, CR Stecyk III, J. Grant Brittain, Greg Hunt, Ed Templeton, Ricky Bedenbaugh, Bryce Kanights, Jamie Thomas, Mike Manzoori, Fred "French Fred" Mortagne, Ty Evans and Geoff Rowley. 

Skate film categories include U.S., international, independent, documentary and more. In addition to the submissions, the Festival will hand-select 10 classic skate films to be included in a nomination category.

The L.A. Skate Film Festival aims to put skateboard cinematography under the spotlight of the true geniuses that have produced some of the best footage to date. It will showcase a unique selection of the best skateboard movies since 2009, made by the widest range of filmmakers from around the world.