The Free Flow Tour stop at the Skatepark of Tampa brought out over a hundred kids, some hoping to make it to the next level, others just looking to have a good time with fellow skaters. All in all, the SPoT crew put on a great event, while local and travelling skaters made it tough for the judges’ panel.

Skate Vert

Starting the day off was the vert contest.  A pre-pubescent field of skaters was proof that vert is still alive and well with the next generation. Evan "Big E" Doherty topped out the podium at just 9 years old and will be making his way to the finals at the Ocean City Dew Tour.  Evan had solid style and a variety of tricks people three times his age dream of having, like a 540 and 720.

"I can't believe I won and I'm going to the finals,” the ecstatic youngster said. “Cant wait to skate the Ocean City ramp!"

Jake Ilardi and Brennan Campbell rounded out the podium and will join Evan in Finals.

Skate Street

The 21 & under street division saw some familiar faces from Free Flows past, including last year's Tampa winner Devin Abreu. After it was all said and done, Jamie Foy, who has made it to many finals before but never won a regional stop, was able to put it together and claim victory.  Jamie's well rounded style and ability to shred anything cinched it for him, along with tricks like a front blunt on the handrail, tre flip and hardflip on the mini Carlsbad, backlip on the handrail, pop shuv lip slide on the hand rail, plus his tranny stunting.

"I've entered a bunch of Free Flows in the past but have never done this well,” Foy said afterwards. “So happy to win today!"

Second place went to Markus Jalaber, who made it to the Salt Lake finals a couple years back.  Markus front feeble bigspinned out on the flat bar, kickflip boardslid the hand rail, variel heeled the stairs, and smithed the handrail as well.  Abreu took 3rd with a backside flip over the mini Carlsbad, kickflip back lip, tre flip and hardflip down the stairs.


  Skate Vert Skate Street Junior Jam
1. Evan Doherty Jamie Foy Landon Swan
2. Jake Ilardi Markus Jalaber Nate Cantrell
3. Brennan Campbell Devin Abreu AJ Dall
4. Austin Gordon Kevin Sikes Nick Noel
5. Nick Wallace Max Catasus Pierce Drahorad